Worth It All

I was watching a video a friend made today, and she put Rita Springer’s “Worth It All” as the music for one of the sections, and the song really hit me in a powerful way. I have always loved it, but hadn’t heard it in a long time. In it she says:

I don’t understand Your ways

But I will give You my song

Give You all of my praise

You hold onto all my pain

With it You are pulling me closer and pulling me into Your ways

Now around every corner and up every moutain

I’m not looking for crowns or the water from fountains

I’m desperate in seeking, frantic believing

That the sight of Your face is all that I’m needing

I will say to You

It’s gonna be worth it

It’s gonna be worth it

It’s gonna be worth it all

I believe all my pain, it’s gonna be worth it

All my joy, it’s gonna be worth it

It’s really a settled issue – no matter what I know it’s going to be worth it all! I think of my friend Kymberly who overcame ovarian cancer at age 21 and now is married and pregnant with her second child. It’s gonna be worth it. My friends Laura and Brooke who each had their dads die before they could walk them down the aisle, and yet they are still passionately in love with Jesus. It’s gonna be worth it. My friends Chris and Jessica who lost their first daughter when she was 3 or 4 years old, in their mid-20’s, and they are some of the most sold out people I know. It’s gonna be worth it. The fact that I’m a single 27 year old living in LA in a lifestyle that is pretty radically pure – it is SO going to be worth it. When I feel lonely and just want to be held, it’s gonna be worth it. When I cry because I just want my life to change, it’s gonna be worth it.

~ by Shannon on January 29, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
