The end is just the beginning

I started this blog to write about my often hilarious attempts to find “the one” as well as encourage others who were in the same position of waiting and at the same time record some of the everyday happenings of my life. Well, now that I’ve found him (happily married for 94 days) I’ve been wondering what to do with my blog: keep it, finish it, start a new one… My friend Jana has been such an inspiration to me with her blog (http://bishopswife.wordpress.com). She started out writing as a pastor’s wife to other pastor’s wives, a sort of safe forum to be real and encourage each other, but as her story and writing has grown she has found a whole gathering of people who are being ministered to by her experience, and it’s really quite exciting. I want to do something like that. I want my blog to be more than just a comical commentary on my life (although I’m sure elements of that will remain as well!).

So what I’ve decided to do is complete this chapter of my life with the wedding video and picture postings and begin a new blog for the new phase. I’m not quite sure what it will look like yet, but I know I have something to say – or maybe I just want a place to express my heart in the hope that it touches people. One of my pastors and friends, Chris Jackson, always would say that the best sermons you preach (especially as young preachers) are the ones you are living: what God is doing in you and revealing to you. They will always be the most authentic and life giving. That is what I am going to attempt to do. Right now I’m learning about being a wife – I basically have no idea what I’m doing 🙂 but I’m trying! I’m walking through that season of being “new” – new to your locale, new to your church, new to your group of friends, new to your job, new to just about everything. I’m figuring out what my relationship with the Lord looks like as a married person, and how you fit that new (HUGE) element into what you did before. I’m learning more about cooking – though I’ve always loved to bake and cook (somewhat) I’m in a major learning curve here as well. I’m dreaming about what creative pursuits I want to and can follow in my life right now – where does a fashion design degree fit into living in the mid-west? So that’s what my new blog (coming soon) will be about – and whatever else is on my heart or mind :).

I’ve loved sharing my heart during the waiting and wedding season of my life – thanks for reading and sharing your heart with me too! Hopefully you’ll jump into my new blog too!

~ by Shannon on August 12, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
